We are nearing the end of the first semester, so it is time for some metacognition (reflection about your thinking.)  Write a paragraph describing any difficulties encountered using differentiation rules.  (Remember the "rules" for a paragraph:  thesis statement, details, etc.)
Katie
12/7/2012 12:43:16 am

Differentiation has been something that I actually seem to understand the concept of a lot more than other things we have done so far this semester. I have been having some problems with understanding all the steps every single time I do it. It's kinda like a gamble if it'll be a good day for me and differentiation.

Reply
michael
12/9/2012 11:51:03 pm

The rules that i learned is the dividing rule and the multiplication rule. The dividing rule is TB'-T'B/B squared. The multiplication rule is FS'=F'S.

Reply
michael
12/9/2012 11:51:40 pm

FS'+F'S

Reply
Rachael
12/11/2012 12:29:30 am

Differentiation has been quite the rollercoaster ride for me. At first I really struggled, until I was taught the power rule. Then it got a lot easier. The quotient rule was sort of confusing at first, but now that I know that algebra can be incorporated into the process, I feel much more confident. The product rule is also getting much easier for me. Overall I feel that I understand differentiation pretty well.

Reply
Megan
12/12/2012 04:41:21 am

The main issue that I have while working with differentiation is remembering the formulas for the problems. I have to run through the rolodex of equations in my brain and figure out which one fits best. Once I know which one to use I have to formulate the right order and the right derivative to plug in. Over all practice will make perfect. Every time I do a problem I feel like I get more and more confident.

Reply
Caitlin
12/12/2012 06:26:31 am

Differentiation has had its ups and downs in my opinion. At first I was very confused because we had to use the "slope of the curve" equation. The long, drawn out process took forever. Now that we have learned the "power rule", it has gotten much easier for me to find derivatives. Using the "quotient rule" and the "product rule" are also fairly simple. The hardest thing is remembering the equations. When I look at a problem, I first decide which equation to use, then plug in the different pieces, and then solve it by using fairly simple algebra. I feel like I have a good grasp on differentiation at this point.

Reply
Jayce
12/12/2012 10:27:20 pm

Differentiation is an on-and-off subject for me. Sometimes I do just fine and other times I get confused. The very first equation that we had to use was long and confusing. Eventually we got down to the derivative process, which is much easier than the other equation. I still sometimes have troble remembering the process, but I understand the derivative rule much easier than the other equation. That is how I feel about differentiation.

Reply
Bailey
12/13/2012 08:11:56 am

Differentiation has had its ups and downs with me throughout this last chapter. In the beginning, I really didn't like learning about them at all. We had to learn how to do derivatives using the h method, and that definitely confused me. Now that we've learned the power rule though, it's much easier to do the derivatives however. Once we learned the power rule it was also much easier to do the other rules, such as the quotient and product rule. Derivatives have become easier as we practice them more and more.

Reply



Leave a Reply.