Welcome to the 2012-13 Calculus Class.  I will post items periodically (about once a week) that will ask you to respond.  This will be a part of your grade.  The faculty at Interstate 35 School is striving to include writing in all curricular areas, thus this blog. 

Your first assignment:  After watching the Khan videio, write a 3 sentence review.  Be specific and thoughtful.   Do not say "It was good.  I liked it."

Have a good day!! 
Megan
8/30/2012 03:26:39 pm

This video had an interesting and effective way to learn a lesson. It's nice to have a vocal explanation accompanied by a visual. Visuals really help bring the lesson together and make things 'click' in my mind. I also liked how Khan used an example to walk us through all the steps of the equation and to bring in all the rules and stipulations of this lesson. Despite the good feature of the video, in a way I feel like he had some unusual repetition. For example, when he was talking about f(1) is undefined. That was a very noticeable repetition. That isn’t necessarily a problem though. I suppose emphasizing and repeating information would be very helpful in teaching a lesson.

Reply
Bailey
9/2/2012 06:58:48 am

I feel like this Khan video is a very creative, but still effective way to learn. I think he explained almost everything very well, and I also liked how he drew out the numbers of the equation, but also showed how to graph it, and at one point even brought out the calculator to show how it would work on that. I think it's a really interesting way to teach math, and I think it was pretty cool that he was able to draw and use a calculator on a video. The one thing I would say I didn't like is that I'm still not exactly sure what a limit is; he explained how to find them, but not really what it was. Over all though, very helpful and informative.

Reply
Caitlin
9/10/2012 11:59:07 am

The Khan video was a unique way to learn about limits; I liked how the video provided a visual of the equations and graphs while also including a speaker that seemed very knowledgeable. It was easy to understand the examples given in the video since they were drawn out step by step. Despite being an interesting way to teach math, I can’t really explain what a limit is after watching this video because the speaker never defined it. The video was interesting, however, I wouldn’t want to learn math like this on a daily basis.

Reply
Travis
9/12/2012 10:54:42 am

The video was truly a different way of learning. All in all, I think I understand limits to an extent, but very well. I think this will be a great introduction to the lessons to come.

Reply
Rachael
9/12/2012 11:17:17 am

It feels so weird to feel like I understand something! I feel like the knowledge I gained from this video went beyond just plugging in numbers in different places, which is how I feel about some of the things we do in math. I understand the concept behind the limit. I really liked being able to see exactly what Khan was talking about as he was saying it. I also noticed the repetition, but I thought it was helpful; it sort of branded the information right into my brain. I would definitely want to use more of these videos in the future. Oh and so much for three sentences guys... we're such over-achievers!

Except for Travis.

Reply
Katie
9/14/2012 03:33:19 am

This video was really informative and I really liked having the visual graphs and different colored lines so you could really see what was what. However, I would have liked it if he had showed us how to see the points on a graphing calculator, since that is what we're going to be using to find them. I also prefer being taught by a real person because you can ask questions as you go along, but this is nice for an addition to a lesson.

Reply
Michael
9/17/2012 11:34:57 pm

The video first confused me at the start. Then I understood the video some. Then I know how to show X is not equal on a graph.

Reply
Tyler
10/17/2012 09:28:49 am

I've tried using websites like this before if i ever had confusion on a topic when the teacher was not immediately present and I've always found them to be pretty helpful. The drawing on screen is a productive visual aide. This helped a little to further understand limits.

Reply



Leave a Reply.