OK, it is time for some reflection!  Think back over the first semester of calculus.  What surprised you the most?  What are words of advice you would offer to next year's class as they begin the year?  (Think:  what I wish I had known!!)  Good luck this semester.
Tbron (Tyler)
1/16/2013 12:31:32 am

Calculus has been a slight struggle for me this year. I'm not the best at math, but I'd wrather try the class and try to get something out of it rather than give up on math for a year. Derivatives surprised me the most. I was scared for them at first, by I get the general idea of them.

I would tell incoming calculus students to pay attention in class and not to take the class if you aren't going to try at all. Algebra is important.

Reply
Jayce
1/16/2013 01:49:50 am

Calculus has not been the easiest class for me because my math skills are not the best. I took the class because I knew it would challenge me and I would not be happy with myself if I did not take it. I am not sure if anything really surprised me in calculus, because I did not know what to expect in the first place. Some advice that I would give to the people taking this class next year is that they should really pay attention in their Algebra and Pre-Calc classes because we learn things in those classes that we will have to know for the rest of our math career in high school. I would also encourage them to ask questions because when you don't ask questions you just get more and more lost.

Reply
Katie
1/16/2013 06:20:27 am

This semester has been less of a challenge than I expected. Although currently these derivatives have been a challenge for me, I have been doing much better this year than I expected. I would tell any upcoming calculus students to plan to spend time after class if they need help.

Reply
Megan
1/16/2013 01:30:13 pm

Calculus is a difficult course if you don't stick to the procedures and keep all the rules in mind. It's a very complex class but there is NOTHING more rewarding than getting a calculus problem correct. If I could give advice to people, I would definitely emphasize the importance of listening closely in class and paying close attention to the examples. Taking notes is a good idea.

Reply
michael
1/17/2013 11:59:32 pm

First semester I don't know how to do limits and i still don't. the advice i would give this semester is not to be gone two weeks in the first semester. this semester what surprised me the most is that derivatives were easy but now they are hard.

Reply
Caitlin
1/24/2013 05:28:14 am

Calculus hasn't been too bad so far; it definitely isn't as hard as I expected. Some of the concepts were a bit difficult to catch on to at first, but after some practice I've gotten better. The thing that surprised me the most was limits. I had never seen anything like that in math before, and it caught me off guard. If I could give advice to next year's class I would say not to take the class unless you are prepared to work hard and pay attention during the class.

Reply
Bailey
1/31/2013 02:48:10 am

The first semester of calculus has proven to be slightly difficult for me. Sometimes it's hard for to grasp onto the concepts and remember them, but I do feel like I've learned a lot about derivatives and the basics of calculus. I was a little surprised at how much harder calculus is for me to understand than algebra, but I think coming into this second semester I have a better idea of what I am doing. I would tell the future classes to brush up on their algebra and their trig functions, and to not ever get behind on their assignments. Those things will come in handy in the future in calculus.

Reply
Travis
2/10/2013 11:59:07 pm

Calculus for me has been alright. I seem to be getting the hang of the way of thinking that Calculus requires and I am finally starting to hit my stride. My advice for the underclassmen to come would be, that if they are going to do anything even remotely associated with math, take calculus. It is better to have a even a slight base of calculus before you try to take a college calculus class. I would tell everybody to take calculus.

Reply



Leave a Reply.